Zip it, zip it good

If Hafiz, the Iranian Sufi, is right and “fear is the cheapest room in the house”, then our zip lining experience suggests a number of possibilities:

1) I have been upgraded to a better room at the same cost; or
2) I have been given more cash (see energy) to afford a better room; or
3) I am now living in a different house altogether.

One of my nicest memories is attending father/daughter camps. These were interesting bonding arrangements where Daughters supervised fathers, fathers made small talk with each other and we collectively have a lot of laughs. On one occasion my daughter Zahra and I were strapped in together on a flying fox to plummet to our deaths- at least that is what my furtive fears were screaming at me. Arriving safely 90 metres later following a gentle ride at a very gentle gradient, we were greeted by her giggling, witty and perceptive friends mimicking me: “Zahra, don’t do that. Sit still. Hold on properly Zahra”.

Zahra smiled knowingly and giggled openly with her mates.

Seems I wasn’t as guarded in my fear of heights as I thought. I was certainly living in the cheapest room in the house.

In Chiang Mai, there is a growth industry in zip lining adventures. Touts press a wide range of companies with a dizzying array of features. We set on one which I casually see has the longest zip line in Thailand. I pay little regard to the pamphlet, confused by the banter and simply wanting a bit of adventure.

We arrive in the jungle after a one and a half hour steep climb. We encounter a beautiful lush environment, a well Laid out course of 52 separate platforms (ie places to jump from high in beautiful trees tethered by strings and wires), 20 metre abseiling drops, wooden and rope bridges over crevasses…..and a strong reacquaintance with why heights results in me living in cheap rooms.

The following sequence is dramatic.

1) Rapid increases in heart rate, body tension, cold sweat and an active imagination identifying (in some detail) the range of possibilities to die (including sites, body parts involved, the nature of personal and apparatus failure and consequences- the music to be played at the funeral)

2) tentative steps off lower platforms involving small zip line distances as a result of personally confronting the fear and
Embarrassment if I was the only one in our group to chicken out. We are a group of ten- Dutch, Koreans (I assume they are from the South as they had good haircuts), Chinese and us- all the rest in their twenties.

3) relief leading to experimentation . Jump, look no hands

4) wonderful release and laughter- trust overrides fear.

5) pride (of sorts!!) when one of the Koreans asks in broken English how old we are. On explanation, they all smile give us the thumbs up and chorus: “you Veddy good”

6) fatigue. Adrenalin at these levels fades at around 40 platforms. Not sure how that is the same for our youthful contingent. That may seem ageist, but they deserve it.

7) moment of (some) truth and reacquaintance with my old adversary. The last zip line is 900 metres long over a beautiful, but very deep, valley. Despite the ego stroking, apparent task mastery, demonstrated courage and peer pressure, I am bound to report I was the only one to chose the coupling at my front. The thought of being connected at the back, not seeing the guy wire and particularly seeing the deep deep dark (ever so dark) valley below was simply too much.

I take steps back to the cheaper room, but hopeful of a little better standard than before. An experience as exhilarating as it was edifying.

“Crack that whip. Give the past a slip”
Divo

A must do in Chiang Mai.

Muay Thai

Despite being exhausted from Zip lining. I have an appointment with Thai boxing. My travel companion is neither interested in “gladiator sports” (sports in general really!) and too exhausted to care (feeling every one of her years following zip lining) and leaves me to go out alone.

My ambivalence in attending is related to both fatigue and fear of voyeurism. Bouts are staged 6 days a week here and I don’t wish to be part of either cheapening traditions or having people sustain injuries simply for foreign gratification and currency. Cock fighting comes to mind and that has always been a bridge too far.

The ambivalence Dissipates when the event starts.

There are generous number of Thais in attendance, there is great pride demonstrated by the fighters, their supporters, and all those involved and the rituals are both solemn and apperantly meaningful.

Getting over my prejudice, I am a privileged witness to great skill, ceremony, strength and courage. It is fantastic. I am reminded and get a richer understanding of my son’s girlfriend’s (Nat) training in this discipline in Perth. There are three “lady” fights on this card. Their bouts are every bit a spectacle as the men’s.

Muay Thai has been going for 700 years in Thailand. I don’t doubt it is part of the reason this country was never colonised…..and not just because of the physical/martial nature of the discipline.

Another must see when here.

A Massage (with a full set of Teeth)

Following a great, but tiring day, I seek out a salve to body and spirit. I am pleased to report a running hypothesis on an inverse relationship between denture preponderance and masseuse proficiency has been disproven (see previous post).

We have heard from friends that women from the prison have been given training as a masseuse to equip them for life on the other side. TripAdvisor reviews are a little patchy.

I am here to report the service I received was excellent, the environment clean and calming and the attention and massage I received (by a woman with all her teeth) absolutely first rate.

I see a word in small print, but bigger meaning, on the desk on exiting:

dignity

Treat yourself when you are over here.

Zip it, zip it good.

KG

3 thoughts on “Zip it, zip it good

  1. It was a good example of reversed parenting.

Leave a comment